Christ's Bridge
A bridge to books and other knowledge about Christ.
If there are any of these books that you would enjoy giving for a present please go to I am reviewing these books for you. The only way that I aquire any profit is if you purchase through my Amazon store.

Sunday, December 12, 2010

Sir Quinlan and the Sword of Valor by Chuck Black

Genre- Youth/Teen Fiction
Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor by Chuck Black
Series- The Knights of Arrethtrae, book 5, but it can be read independently of the series
Published by- WaterBrook Multnomah
Copyrighted- 2010
Number of pages- 189
Age Group- Youth/Teen
Description of book- paperback, list price $10.99, ISBN 978-1-60142-128-9
Extras- Discussion Questions and piano music for the “Ride of the Valiant” by Emily Elizabeth Black

Told from the perspective of Cedric of Chessington, Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor, is filled with knights, good and evil, and mystical creatures.

Quinlan, better known to his friends as Twitch (facial tic), is drawn further into the world of the Knights of the Prince, while his close friend Tav, draws away. Sir Baylor from the Swords of Valor Knights, Tav’s uncle, comes and Quinlan is chosen to go with him. When tragedy strikes the knights disband and Quinlan spends time wandering the kingdom. He meets a Silent Warrior, Taras, who helps him train in hopes that the Swords of the Valor Knights can rejoin and fight against the Dark Knight and his knights. Will Quinlan succeed? Read the book! You can read the first two chapters here.

About the author- Chuck Black is the author of the Kingdom series and Knights of Arithtrae series. He lives with his wife, Andrea and their five children in North Dakota.

My thoughts- Would I recommend? Yes. I recommend this book to people in the age group listed and also to adults, as the reader can learn about apathy through the use of allegory. Tav and Quinlan truly represent us as Christians and how we should join and be a part of the Prince’s army, by not just saying we are Christians, but truly being Christians.

My favorite part was when Taras tells Quinlan two lessons, “know who you are” and “know who you want to become.” I thought it was also important when Taras said, “The Prince sees you for not who you think you are, but for who He knows you are” These two lessons and what the Prince sees in us are very important for those who are apathetic.

I plan on acquiring the books in this series and the Kingdom Series, because I plan on using them as a teaching tool for my children.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the WaterBrook Multnomah “Blogging For Books” program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

1 comment:

Make sure you click on the Amazon Ad if you need to order books or toys for presents. By ordering from Amazon you enable me to be able to find more books to review for you.